Travelling with Special Needs / Disabilities – Checklist


Travelling with Special Needs / Disabilities - Checklist

A Checklist to a Memorable Journey for Travellers with Specials Needs

Do you want to travel but afraid to take even a single step? Are you
afraid to experience getting unfair treatment because of your special
needs? Or are you just not ready to see what the world has to offer
because you think you are not capable?
Being disabled or having special needs should not stop you from
reaching your dreams. Do not stay forever inside your comfort zone and
take courage to achieve your dreams. Go out and see  how wonderful it is
to live. Below is a checklist to guide you on how to make your journey
memorable and enjoyable.
Here is the checklist:

  • I plan and organize my travel.
  • I have enough knowledge and information about the place I want to go.
  • I know the airport’s offered services for my needs.
  • I informed the travel service provider about my disability so they are prepared in providing my needs.
  • I have a go signal from my doctor that I can travel.
  • I keep in mind some safety and health tips to be prepared in any ways.
  • I have an extra medication for emergency purposes.
  • I also carry my doctor’s advice or note so it is readily available when I need it.
  • To lessen my burden, I have a travel agent who is specialized in handling disabled travelers.
  • To save more time and energy, I avoid connecting flights.
  • I know my rights.
  • I know the rules for travelers with disabilities when I go to an airport security.
  • I will complain directly if my rights have been violated.
  • If still a problem related to violating
    my rights is not resolved after my direct complaint, I will file a
    report to the Civil Aviation Authority or CAA.

The checklist above is just a guide to help you experience travelling
without inconvenience. It will help you be free of worries and build
your confidence in travelling despite of your disability. It is still up
to you if you follow it.
Moreover, the following pointers may help you make the most out of your travel experience.

  • To be able to get more information about
    your dream destination, you can make a research through the internet or
    ask some disabled persons who already experienced travelling on that
    place. They can share some inputs on what to expect during your travel
    and what you need to prepare.
  • Connecting flights is possible if you
    have plenty of time between your flights. It is important that you save
    your time, energy and avoid any cause of discomfort.
  • In cases of maltreatment, you should not
    let your emotions take over you. If you just let others treat you
    disrespectfully, you will not be able to enjoy your travel and it will
    just spoil your day.

Now that you know nothing can stop you, start putting what’s in this
article into action, then you will realize and appreciate that life is
so worth living for.

See more at Intelligent Travel.

About Tony Ridley
Travel health, safety, security and risk management expert.

Leave a Reply

